Priceline Hotel: 3* Sheraton South Portland 6/27-6/29 $52

Analise
By Analise,
in

I love this property as it's conveniently located outside of Portland and it's a nice Sheraton. Summer weekends are challenging in Maine so I'm pleased with this. I first bid $48 but was rejected in a weird way. I'm new to Priceline so please forgive me for sounding simplistic. I got a response saying that if I bid $14 more for a 3* or higher, I would be allowed a free bid. I decided not to do this but instead entered a new bid for a different zone of Portland. My first zone was PWM so I chose So Portland which is pretty much the exact same area but considered a separate zone. I bid $4 more and got an acceptance. So ignore their advice for rebidding at their specified level. The Sheraton is the highest star hotel in South Portland so I knew that with the acceptance it was the Sheraton which I got.

I made the bid on Monday May 5.

I got a response saying that if I bid $14 more for a 3* or higher, I would be allowed a free bid.

We call this a "counter-offer" and you did good to turn it down. I only recommend accepting them when there's little time left and you have no re-bids available. The counter-offers can almost always be undercut.

If you'd like to read more about this, you can do so here: Priceline Suggests Price to Pay

You can also find out how much Priceline paid for the room by using the taxes shown on your winning bid screen (this helps you know the "right" amount if you bid this zone in the future). If you want to do the calcuation, it's all explained here: Using the Tax Info to Determine Priceline's cost

Thanks again for posting, and if you have any questions regarding the above info, feel free to ask.

Please use this HOTWIRE and these PRICELINE LINKS: HOTELS, CAR RENTALS, and AIRFARE to begin your travel purchases

Smart move to reject the counteroffer, Analise! Your instincts served you right on this one!