Priceline Hotel: 2.5* Newark (Elizabeth) Courtyard

blkjck1
By blkjck1,
in

This room was won due to a bidding error. I had originally bid for a 3* for Jersey City that was rejected at $125. I had already won 4 nights at the Hyatt Regency for $140 immediately after this time frame, so I thought I could use that as a ceiling rate. Then, I thought I was using a rebid zone, but I was then distracted, and then clicked as if I was bidding just for a 2.5* in Jersey City. So, I wound up getting accepted at the Courtyard in Elizabeth near EWR at $140+fees, for a 5 night total of $828.24.

Now, I've stayed here once as a result of the same type of bidding error when I was a Priceline rookie. It's a pretty decent hotel, but the problem is that it is so far out of Manhattan (at least for my wife), and the available permutations of getting to and from Manhattan (NJ Transit buses, trains to EWR, renting a car/parking somewhere in NJ/PATH or bus to NYC) weren't very appealing, and certainly not for 5 nights. My wife has a sense of humour, but made it clear to me the last time that Elizabeth was not somewhere she wanted to be at again unless we were flying out of EWR sometime early in the morning.