Priceline Hotel: San Diego area bidding help

Brian Hammerhead
By Brian Hammerhead,
in

Hello,

I am rather new to Priceline and this forum, but I have tried to read all the advice and numerous postings. If someone more experienced has some suggestions for my situation, I would appreciate it.

We are planning on visiting Legoland, Sea World San Diego, San Diego Zoo, and San Diego Wild Animal Park in one trip. We have six children ranging in age from 4 - 16. Our travel dates are:

Check-in: Friday, May 30

Check-out: Sunday, June 8

My original strategy is to find a central San Diego location, purchase two hotel rooms at once (same hotel of course) and stay at the one hotel the entire time. The advantage is not having to pack up and move mid-vacation. However, I am flexible. If it is better to bid for shorter stays at different hotels, then I am open to that also.

Based on route plans from Google Earth, the optimal central area appears to be Rancho Bernardo. I saw on the forum that there was a previous bid covering one of the weekends that we will be there: $53 for 2.5* at the Courtyard Rancho Bernardo. Based on the information I have been able to gather, these are the Rancho Bernardo hotels that I believe are available through Priceline:

3* Doubletree Golf Resort ($8 self parking, )

3* Holiday Inn (Sleeps 4, microwave and refrigerator, pool, free parking, free wireless, free breakfast)

2.5* Courtyard Rancho Bernardo (Microwave, free internet, free parking, no breakfast)

2.5* Residence Inn REVIEW (Full Kitchen, free internet, free parking, on-site laundry, buffet breakfast, pool)

2* Staybridge Suites