Hotwire Hotel: Hotwire hotel appearing/disappearing

kstrom
By kstrom,
in

For the last couple of days, I have been tracking Washington DC Hotwire hotels for April 12-16, 2006 (plans aren't firm yet, so can't purchase). I have noticed that a 3.5* Whitehouse/Capital Hill hotel (restaurant, pool, fitness, computer, business -- probably Hyatt Regency Washington on Capital Hill) has been appearing and disappearing. Each time I see it, the price is the same ($92), so it really does seem like its the same hotel each time. The only regularity seems to be whether I put kids down or not (the hotel shows up when I put my two kids in, but not when I don't). It seems odd that a hotel would show up WITH kids, but not without. Has anyone heard of this happening?

Thanks,

KStrom

Hotwire will only show you the least expensive hotel at each star rating in each zone. When searching for your dates for 2 adults, the least expensive property at the 3.5* rating is the Boutique hotel at $85. This hotel may not be able to accomodate more than 2 adults per room, so when you do a search and include your kids, this Boutique property is excluded from the possibilties... therefore Hotwire showns you the next cheapest hotel available, which in this case is the $92 hotel.

Please use this HOTWIRE and these PRICELINE LINKS: HOTELS, CAR RENTALS, and AIRFARE to begin your travel purchases

Thanks for the explanation. I learned two things from it.

I hadn't noticed the regularity of Hotwire only displaying the cheapest hotel at a star rating for each area. Is there someway to defeat this (i.e., get Hotwire to list all of the 3.5*s in an area regardless of price)? For us, a 3.5* with a pool is better than a 3.5* hotel without a pool that costs a few dollars less, so it would be nice to be able to compare hotels' ammentities.

I also didn't realize that Hotwire took seriously the number of people in the room if some were < 18 years old. A second good thing to know.

Thank you!

Kstrom