One Way rental included in daily price on Priceline?

Ola Dunk
By Ola Dunk,
in

Yesterday I used a european service to book a car for my roadtrip starting 08.00AM 28th of July at Denver International Airport (DEN) and ending 21.00PM 17th of August at Los Angeles Airport (LAX) . I booked a premium car.

I was quite happy with the price that was around US$916. I calculated that this means around $45 pr day ($916/20.54 days) and when checking this on the "name your own price" on Priceline I saw that I was not likely to get a cheaper price there. I was given $53 and $56 as suggested daily bids.

However, this morning I received the confirmation for my rental and was informed that US$300 + tax is to be paid locally upon pick-up due to one-way rental fee. I was also informed that I am free to cancel the rental with 100% refund upto 40 hours before start.

I have never used PRICELINE before (frequent HOTWIRE user though), so I'm completely new to this. My question is if one way rental fee is baked into the daily price that is shown on priceline "name your own price"? I read through terms/faqs but could only find information that everything is included except drop-off fee when delivering the car. Can anybody tell me exactly what I have to add to the daily price given for a one way rental?

• 2 weeks later...

My question is if one way rental fee is baked into the daily price that is shown on priceline "name your own price"? I read through terms/faqs but could only find information that everything is included except drop-off fee when delivering the car. Can anybody tell me exactly what I have to add to the daily price given for a one way rental?

I mailed Priceline customer support and received the following answer:

"We understand that

you would like to know about one way drop-off fee for rental car, if you

submit a request using the Name Your Own Price option. Also, you would

like to know whether one way drop-off fee is included in daily price.