Thank You for Naming Your Own Price – Unfortunately, we cant...

bat
By bat,
in

Hi Bat,

I am far from a Newbie and this type of thing has happened to more than I want to say during the last 4 weeks or so. My theory is that Priceline is telling you that you may as well give up because you are not going to win a hotel; maybe a case of no inventory or maybe hotel prices are much higher than they assume you will be bidding. It is really annoying! In my case, they do not even give me a response to my bid but just send me over to the full price screen.

Since I always and we ALL should always go to Priceline by way of a link on the Better Bidding screen, when they send me to the full price screen, I simply click to go back to Better Bidding and right away use the link again to continue bidding. It's not ideal but it works.

Anyone else have theories on this?

Regards,

Donna

I think the average PRICELINE user doesn't bid multiple times (either is not willing to add another zone, doesn't know about re-bidding, or is just trying it out with a really lowball offer) and leaves the site upon the first rejected bid screen. By sending a user to the retail site it gives PRICELINE another opportunity to capture the sale from a user they know is 'ready to buy'.

Since I always and we ALL should always go to Priceline by way of a link on the Better Bidding screen, when they send me to the full price screen, I simply click to go back to Better Bidding and right away use the link again to continue bidding. It's not ideal but it works.
If you use the PRICELINE search box on the top right corner of the page, the city and date information stays in their while you're bidding, so if you're taken to the "retail" listings, you can simply close that browser, return here and click the GO button again, and all your information is propagate and ready to bid :)

Please use this HOTWIRE and these PRICELINE LINKS: HOTELS, CAR RENTALS, and AIRFARE to begin your travel purchases