Hotwire Hotel: 3.5* Newark (Hoboken - Jersey City) Hyatt Regency

eshspres
By eshspres,
in

First of all let me thank the angel that came up with the amazing site...this is such a great help to all of use penny pinchers out there that can't bear giving over our first born in order to stay in NYC.

My question is this: I am going to be in NYC from Dec. 10-13. Just glancing around at the hotel prices in the city for these days I figured my Priceline options would still be through the roof (i.e., $200+). Because I am a poor college student I didn't even bother bidding yet. I did notice, however, because of this site, that hotels in Jersey City seem to be a great option. I am in the city on business only and know my way around very well, so seeing the "sites" and such is not a big deal. I just want a cheap bed in a nice hotel and fairly quick, easy access to the city. If I decide to go the Jersey City route what should I bid? I'm hoping for the Hyatt in the sub $50 range, but I'm not sure how realistic this will be and would settle for the Doubletree or any of the other nice hotels for that matter. I would be willing to go higher for the Hyatt. Just give me any option you think might help me out.

Also, for fun...what would I have to bid to get a decent hotel in NYC?

Any suggestions from this rockin' site would be most appreciated.

Uh oh...

I went up to $50 and a 2.5* level and still no takers. From what I can tell on other websites it looks like the Hyatt is booked on the 11th and 12th, but Orbitz still has rooms available for it on those dates. I know I still have a while before I travel, but seeing as how rooms seem to be filling up I'm starting to feel a sense of urgency. Help and suggestions please?!?