Priceline Hotel: 4* San Diego (Downtown-Harbor Island) Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

redgale
By redgale,
in

Priceline/Hotwire newbie here, hoping to get some advice if possible! I am going to San Diego 8/13-8/16. I have been trying to follow the results posted on this forum and have been reading the tips posted here. Today I started the bidding process (exciting!) but wasn't successful.

I started with a bid for a 4* hotel in the San Diego Coastal area for $70. That was rejected so I added the San Diego & Harbor Island area and raised my bid to $75. Again, rejected. I then added the 3.5* level and put in a bid of $70. Again, rejected. I guess I shouldn't have bid so low in the beginning. When the 24 hours are up, I'll bid higher. Any suggestions for how much to bid? I've read the tips on how to bid a few times through and must admit I'm still feeling rather clueless. I am hoping to not spend more than about $85 per night.

I appreciate any help that can be given!

Welcome to BetterBidding!

You can bid more systematically than you have been... are you familair with re-bidding? At the 4* level you have 12 re-bid zones... at the 3.5* level you have EIGHT re-bid zones. Please read Priceline Re-Bidding Explained and feel free to ask any questions you have and/or confirm your re-bid zones with the board. If you're confused just post back and we'll break it down further for you, step by step.

Furthermore, for us to suggest a strategy to follow, let us know if you want to bid up to your limit at the 4* level before lowing and trying the 3.5* up to your limit OR if your goal is the least expensive 3.5* or better for this stay. Also, i assume that both the Coast and Downtown-Harbor Island zones are acceptable?

Please use these PRICELINE and HOTWIRE links to begin your travel purchases.

Let us know the above and we'll advise accordingly.

Please use this HOTWIRE and these PRICELINE LINKS: HOTELS, CAR RENTALS, and AIRFARE to begin your travel purchases