Hotwire Hotel: 3* Seattle (Southcenter-Tukwila-Renton) Larkspur Landing

motegirl
By motegirl,
in

I've been using Priceline to find a hotel for a 10 night stay in Seattle so I can care for my son after his surgery. The dates are 6/21-7/1/09. I see that there are only 3 hotels in the Lake Union area at the 3* level, and 2 of them offer kitchens in the room, very helpful to me in caring for him post-op. I decided to take a shot, as my odds of getting what I want are 2 of 3, and the non-PRICELINE rate of $149/night is too high for my budget. I tried bidding $70, then $80, then $85 without success. I will bid again tomorrow through the BB PRICELINE links, but as your members have won much lower rates in Seattle, I wonder if my date span is the problem. I'm not experienced with HOTWIRE, so I haven't tried it on this trip.

I hope your son recovers well.

The main problem with Lake Union is that it's hard to win bids there at all, and most of the bids people win are for short stays. I doubt a single long stay has been posted for Lake Union.

Will you have a car when you are there?

I think that Homewood Suites (either the Pike Street location or the other one close to the Space Needle) would also work well for you, because they have kitchens.

Also, the Marqueen that I stayed at a few months ago has full kitchens. (So does the Inn at Queen Anne, but that is a 2* hotel.) Note that the Marqueen has no elevator, so far as I can see. I think the Inn at Queen Anne also lacks elevators.

Springhill Suites has a microwave, fridge, and dishwasher, but not a full kitchen.

With Priceline there is the possibility of not getting enough beds, and two, you could very easily not get a kitchen. I haven't looked for a while, but I think with at least one of the Lake Union known options, there can be problems getting two beds.

Wherever you end up staying, Whole Foods will probably be a convenient location for you to pick up some prepared food that's pretty reasonably priced.