Help with YYC

travelbee
By travelbee,
in

At what point did you get the "unavailable" message... before you submitted your bid or after?

If before, what exactly did you enter as a search city/airport?

If after, did the message say "unavailable" or "... we were unable to accept your bid"? Do you remember (or is there a way to see) exactly what the messaged stated?

Please use these PRICELINE and HOTWIRE links to begin your travel purchases.

Please use this HOTWIRE and these PRICELINE LINKS: HOTELS, CAR RENTALS, and AIRFARE to begin your travel purchases

The message I got after the bid was submitted was "We were unable to locate an available car through our Name Your Own Price service for the car type you selected. We did find the following great deals available from our rental partners." I just thought it was strange because it was not "unable to accept your bid" that we usually see. I bid $30/day for full size with no success.

Being a Calgary resident, I can't think of any reason why a car rental at YYC would be that high. Your dates are not during the Stampede, and unless there is something big going on during those dates, there never has been for as long as I have lived here.

I do have a thought though, why don't you take a cab to any of the car rental places to downtown Calgary. I just checked Budget Rent-a-car, and for those days, you can get a full sized car for $205 Cdn (about $190 US). The cab ride to downtown will be about $30-35 Cdn.

Proud to be Canadian!

Thanks for your suggestion blkjck1. I'll try that if I have no luck with PL. The hotel I am staying offers complimentary airportl shuttle so I may try to find a rental car company near there. I just don't understand why the rates are so much higher at the airport - as you said the stampede would be over by then!