Priceline Hotel: Victoria bidding help

sb589004
By sb589004,
in

Hi - looking for help on a good strategy to start bidding for Victoria BC, hopefully 3 or 4 star but maybe 2, for one night, Aug 14, 2004.

Hotwire rates seem pretty high so I assume I'll need to bid fairly high on Priceline. Also, is there any way to re-bid for a place like Victoria when there's only one zone?

I'm fairly new to this and look forward to any ideas anyone has. Thanks!

Given your preference for 3* and 4* hotels, I wouldn't suggest bidding for a a 2* hotel particularly if you are only in Victoria for one night, unless you choose the hotel. The 2* Red Lion hotel is not in the best location and it doesn't have good reviews.

There aren't any rebid zones.

I'd definitely check out Expedia too. Some people like Victoria B&Bs also, but I don't know anything about those.

Thank you! No, I don't have a backup reservation yet. Looking for that tonight as well.

As far as maximum bid, well, we're definitely going to be there that night so I have to find something... :) ...and it looks like I can probably find a Best Western or Holiday Inn for a bit over $100 US ($125 or so with tax, etc.), which I guess would be fine.

So I guess there's no point in bidding too much over $100 US. And I guess with it only a week away and 72 hours between re-bids and only one zone, I don't have a whole bunch of bids I could try.

Thanks for your help and ideas!

Based upon the Hotwire rates you mention above as being high and this recent PRICELINE VICTORIA win i would start by trying $100 for a 4 and if rejected lowering to 3* and bidding $95.

Theoretically you could bid $90 for the 3* and then raise to $95 in 72 hours, but given that it's getting close to check-in date and this stay is only for one nite, i wouldn't quibble over $5 (just my opinion).

Without re-bids and much time there's not too much 'fancy work' that can be done.