Hotwire Hotel: 2.5* Boston (Brookline-Newton-Harvard) Holiday Inn Brookline

periodic_trvlr
By periodic_trvlr,
in

I am a newbie to PL ... and BB, though I have now scoured the site and greatly value the insights.

This week, hotels in Boston are listing larcenous overnight rates thanks to the Head of the Charles Regatta event this weekend. I am looking for a one-night stay in a 3.5* or 4* hotel in Copley or Quincy, this Wednesday night, paying no more than $175 pre-tax.

To my untrained eye, Hotwire has little to go on that is directly relevant, as it quotes:

- $229 for a 3* in (Brookline - Newton - Harvard Area)

- $359 for a 3* in (Quincy Market - Financial District)

- $449 for a 4* in (Waterfront Area - South Boston)

- ... and "does not have results" for (Boston Common), (Theatre District, Back Bay), (Copley Square, Medford), (Somerville, Cambridge)

I understand the bid bracketing strategy that should be employed with the three other 3*-and-below areas, but am at a loss as to where to begin bidding. I'd be grateful for a proposed strategy, considering the inflated base prices.

edit: included my arrival date

Welcome to BetterBidding, periodic trvlr.

Are you bidding for tomorrow night Wednesday, October 15?

You might not succeed in getting anything in Copley or Quincy on Priceline under $175. Priceline sells excess inventory and on high demand dates like this there might not be any excess inventory for Priceline to sell.

Many hotels sell through Priceline and Hotwire both. If Hotwire has nothing in Boston Common, Theater District, and Copley Square zones then Priceline probably doesn't have anything in those areas either.

I'd suggest starting around $130 for a 4* in your two preferred zones. Then use your three free rebid zones up to your $175 limit. Then try the same for 3.5*. I suspect $175 won't be enough though and you'll need to consider some alternative zones and/or quality levels for this date.

Please start your bid with this PRICELINE link.