Priceline Hotel: Newbie help for Jersey City

mynameiskatherine
By mynameiskatherine,
in

Hi,

I have looked over some of the stickies and hope my question isn't too ridiculous.

I have never used Priceline before but for my upcoming trip to the US I am considering taking the plunge!

Manhattan Island prices being what they are I am seriously considering staying in NJ; specifically Jersey City (seems perfect).

I want to confirm my suspicions that by bidding on a 3* property in Newark Meadowlands (Jersey City) I am bidding on

a stay at one of two properties : Doubletree or the Hyatt (hoping for the Hyatt). I don't like surprises but I am quite happy to

get stuck with either of these if that's all there is in the 3* category :)

If I am correct what would be a resonable starting price to start proceedings? I hope to stay for atleast 5 days but possibly 7 (my plans

are flexible and not yet set in concrete).

TIA :)

Welcome to Betterbidding

I want to confirm my suspicions that by bidding on a 3* property in Newark Meadowlands (Jersey City) I am bidding on

a stay at one of two properties : Doubletree or the Hyatt (hoping for the Hyatt). I don't like surprises but I am quite happy to

get stuck with either of these if that's all there is in the 3* category :)

No, you are not bidding solely for these two properties.

As per the warning at the head of the hotels list:

This list is NOT a complete list of all hotels that Priceline offers in this area, it is ONLY a compilation of hotels that have already been reported on this forum. Hotels are added/removed by Priceline all the time, and star ratings can change at ANY time

However having said that the only two 3* properties that have been reported time and time again are the Doubletree and the Hyatt, so if you win at 3* you will most probably get either one.

For a strategy we need to know:

Dates of stay

Maximum budget.

BTW