Priceline Hotel: 3* Raleigh-Durham (Chapel Hill) Sheraton

talulabelle
By talulabelle,
in

I'm a newbie, and am considering taking a chance and using Priceline or Hotwire to book a hotel for 3 nights in Chapel Hill NC. It is me, my husband, and 4 kids. I have read everything here and on Priceline (I think) and I know I am not guaranteed 2 beds, or connecting rooms and that I would need to make that request from the hotel.

My question is - Has anyone here ever had any luck having these requests granted? Is it a slim shot? I think I might take the risk and just go for 3 star or better with the thinking that the rooms would at least have a king bed and if my husband and I slit between the rooms, we could still fit with 2 kids each in a king. I'm trying to decide if the savings is worth the risk, but ithout priceline, I just can't afford 2 rooms for 3 nights in any of the nicer hotels...

Any thoughts? should I risk it? My thinking was that since it is spring break the college campuses will be pretty empty and the hotels will not be at peak capacity so maybe I have a better shot.