Priceline Hotel: NYC Hotels October Help

RonanL
By RonanL,
in

Hi I've never used Priceline before but it seems to be a good way to save serious cash on NY hotels.

I'm going for 4 nights at the end of October (25th to 29th) with my girlfriend. Looking to stay somewhere nice without completely blowing the budget.

Can someone let me know how much approx I should expect to bid for a 3* or 4*.

Also wondering is there a huge difference in the various hotels at each range (i.e. can you end up staying in a dump if bidding at 3*). It all seems pretty risky given the number of dodgy overpriced hotels in NY. Am tempted to just pay up for somewhere I know will be nice if it is very risky.

Also wondering whether anyone could advise whether I should bid for a 3* or 4*.

By the way I probably should have added that the prices I've been looking at through normal channels is about $400 a night (after tax) for the Affinia Manhattan. From what I've heard its meant to be pretty nice.

For the risk of bidding blind I'd be hoping for around $200 a night. Is this reasonable??

Hi Looking for somewhere pretty central (my girlfriend has never been to NY before so will be hitting all the usual tourist spots).

Probably Midtown, though also considering downtown as probably better value and a bit more relaxed. Probably want to avoid Times Square. From what I remember its overpriced and not the best place to relax and sleep at night (not that I intend having a relaxing holiday but would like to have a chance to sleep when I need to).

Lived in NYC for a year in 2003 and haven't been back since. Hadn't realised how expensive NY hotels are.

Thanks for your help

Welcome to BetterBidding!

October is an expensive time in NYC (but if you think that is expensive... you should see November and December! :) )