Priceline Hotel: Advice Needed - Philadelphia Bidding Months Ahead

funmom
By funmom,
in

We already know that we will be in Philadelphia for 3 nights July 31- August 2. After reading through your posted tips, I'm ready to bid now, 6 months in advance. Since I'm new to all of this, I would appreciate some feedback.

My biggest concern is location. We will be spending time in the Historic District and the Franklin Institute/Museaum of Art, want to eat at the Terminal Market (I understand breakfast is suggested so we can stop there on our way to our daily destination), and shop at the Shops at Liberty Place. If I were to book a room directly through a hotel, I would choose to stay in the Historic District or at the Convention Center across the street from Reading terminal Market. Since we'll have 2 middle school aged kids with us, I do not want to have to walk 6 blocks to get to the Phlash shuttle (e.g. from the Doubletree).

I see that the Marriott Courtyard is often won at $48, but if I bid on a 2.5*, I might be upgraded to a 3*, right? There are a handful of 3* properties several blocks off the Phlash route, so now I'm thinking I should begin by bidding low (maybe $56 since I have lots of time) on a 4* property, all of which appear to be within 2 blocks of the Plash with exception of Sofitel and Hyatt Bellvue. I figure that if we get a super deal on a 4*, then it makes hoofing 6 blocks worth it.....

Do I have the right strategy in mind? Also, when bidding this far in advance, are there certain hotels that are most often won?

Last question - I read that a couple months back, someone bid on a 3* and got upgraded to the the 4* Omni for $46 per night. Should I start at $46 for 4*? Or is that just unreasonably low since there are no ther posts of 4* for less than $56?

Thanks much!

Welcome to BetterBidding!