Priceline Hotel: Bidding Assistance 2* 9/16 to 9/21

Vegeta
By Vegeta,
in

Hi! I was just referred to this board, love the concept, and think you guys have done a great job as evidenced by all the good deals ppl have gotten. This is my first post so be gentle. <G>

I've never used Priceline or Hotwire before--I don't even see where you can bid on Hotwire (can you?). But Priceline's where I've started.

I'm looking for a 2* hotel (something along the lines of a Holiday Inn, Days Inn, or Super 8 maybe) in Midtown Manhattan or as close to it as possible. I'd consider farther uptown, Long Island City, or somewhere equally close if that's the only way I can get a good price. It'd be nice to have high speed Internet, but not required. If I'm not in Midtown, easy access to the subway/bus lines is a must.

I'm shooting for $150/night or less, including taxes (so maybe $130 before). Does this seem realistic? Too low/high? I'd like to make reservations soon for peace of mind, though they seem to be much cheaper (but it's also riskier!) if you wait until the last minute. If nothing else, I could shorten my visit by a day (I haven't bought plane tickets yet, but want to do that ASAP for the same reason) and up my price a bit.

Thanks!

Welcome to BetterBidding!

First a warning... are you sure you want to bid on a 2* hotel in NYC? We really dont' see much bidding at this star level because you are buying an opaque product; so while some 2* hotels my suit your needs, other 2* properties may not (and Holiday Inns are more of a 3* property than a 2*). If this is the quality level you want i would sooner look towards non-opaque suppliers such as EasyClickTravel, Quickbook, or hotel-direct (use our BetterChecker for any easy way to search among numerious hotel websites)