Priceline Hotel: Bidding Assistance NYC 4* or 3* Fri 9/15 - Sun 9/17

Lulu_Jackson
By Lulu_Jackson,
in

I'm meeting my best friend in NYC Friday, Sept 15 - 17. We are interested in getting a 4* or 3* hotel in the "Upper Midtown - Central Park South" or "Midtown East" areas. We would be fine with getting the Hudson Hotel which is a 3* in the Upper Midtown - Central Park South area. If we could get the Hudson or even a better place in one of those areas we'd be thrilled.

Any advice on bidding to achieve this? My friend has stayed at the Hudson and likes it. Of course we'd like to pay around $130 or something close to that, which may be hard to do. She used Priceline a while back and paid $130 for the Hudson.

We will be meeting each other at Penn Station on Friday.

I'm a photographer, so we'll be roaming the city on our trip taking pictures and maybe going to the MOMA or similar places. We are open to other hotels besides the Hudson, but basically want a clean place that isn't too sketchy since we'll be traveling alone and will be coming in late from dinner at night. If it was trendy/artsy like the Hudson Hotel that would of course be a bonus to us.

Any advice or suggestions?

Thanks in advance for your help,

Lulu

As you eluded, $130 or better may be very difficult for these dates... i understand that "cheaper is better", but what is your maximum bid?

Is there a reason you're avoiding the MTW zone? What about the MTS zone? Since rates are high for these dates adding these other zones will give you more bidding opportunities as well as increase your chances for getting an offer accepted at the lowest prossible price. Almost all of the hotels in these zones are close to mass transit and/or subways, but as i don't know your specific plans, don't know if these other zones will work for you needs or not.

Let us know the answers to the above and we'll suggest a strategy to follow.