Priceline Hotel: 3/4* in Manhattan

poolwizzza
By poolwizzza,
in

Hi there,

I'm new to PL and would like to spend a romantic we in NYC. As I've never been there, I'd like some help. I'm looking for a double room, 2 adults, from 22nd Oct to 24th, close to attractions. I don't really know what budget I should be expecting, as prices vary widely, from $100 to $600+, sometimes for same hotels... I have around $150 budget per night, which is flexible (in both directions! ).

Can you advise on a strategy with PL? perhaps starting with 4* ?

Thanks,

Pool.

Welcome to BetterBidding!

You mentioned a weekend in NYC but the dates above are actually Sat-Mon... is that correct?

If so, i think a 4* hotel is going to be a very tough win at $150... our strategies try lower bids first and gradually work up, so what is your true upper limit for a 4*?

Sunday nites in NYC are the cheapest of all, so i think you may have success for that solo nite at only slightly more than your budget, is SPLITTING YOUR BID an option?... although that still leaves the 'problem' of Saturday nite which is going to be much more difficult (and likely much higher in price!)

Let us know your thoughts and we'll advise how to best proceed.

Please use this HOTWIRE and these PRICELINE LINKS: HOTELS, CAR RENTALS, and AIRFARE to begin your travel purchases

The dates are correct indeed. I prefer not to split, to avoid the hassle of changing location during such a short stay (also coming from UK).

Budget is flexible, I'm looking at max $200 per night (excl taxes).

If splitting necessary to reach this, I might consider it, but realistically, would really prefer not to.

Is late Oct a peak period? i've seen some 4* go for much less than $150.

Thanks to advise a strategy. I've checked out the tricks of the game, and think I can deal with the rebidding etc.

At the 4* level you have two re-bid zones... at the 3* level you have one.

To try for a 4*, this is how i woudl proceed:

Select 4* MTE...