Priceline Hotel: Help! Planning a trip to NYC

Coco
By Coco,
in

This site is wonderful, but please excuse me, I'm a total newbie. We are a family of (gasp! :) ) 6 traveling to NYC August 17-21. The kids range in age from 8 - 15. Since NYC is very expensive with small hotel rooms we were looking at doing a suite in Secaucus (or Jersey City, which seems easier for public transportation to the city!). We would probably need a suite with 2 double beds and a pull out sofa. (The Embassy Suites runs 170/night)

I have never used Priceline or Hotwire before, but if I could score a hotel room at the Hyatt for $70-80/night, maybe a better strategy would be to try to book 2 hotels rooms through Priceline. We are driving up from the DC area so we will have a car to park at the hotel (sometimes parking fees, right?), but we plan to use public transportation to the city and back. Any advice on how to get a great hotel for us?

Thank you for your help; it's pretty daunting trying to arrange this whole thing (many hotels have a maximum of 4 people per room). Thanks again for all your travel expertise!! :)

When i had asked last nite about splitting the bid i think you could have gotten good rates at the Hyatt for everyday except for Friday nite, but now it appears that only Thursday and Sunday nites are availble.

I would try anyway...

Select 3* Jersey City for 8/17-8/21

Bid $81, if rejected change dates to 8/17-8/20...

Bid $81, if rejected change dates to 8/17-8/19....

Bid $81.

I'm assuming you do not want to change 3 times (a hotel Wednesday, another hotel Thursday and Friday, and a third hotel Saturday), but if the above fails (which very well may be likely) then post back of the 3x move is acceptable or not and we'll discuss your other possibilities.

Any questions on the above feel free to ask.

Good Luck.

Please use this HOTWIRE and these PRICELINE LINKS: HOTELS, CAR RENTALS, and AIRFARE to begin your travel purchases