Priceline Hotel: 3* Newark (Jersey City) Hyatt Regency on Hudson

Jas
By Jas,
in

Hi all, this is my first posting here at BetterBidding.com.

I would like to stay at the Hyatt on the Hudson in Jersey city for two nights: check-in Fri 7-29 checkout Sunday 7-31. Is it too late to use Priceline?

I have never used Priceline before but from I read it seems to be a good place to get great deals.

Right now, on Expedia, a Double Room (2 queens) is going for 153CAD/night (roughly 126 USD).

What is a good strategy for bidding? Also, can I be ASSURED that I will stay at this hotel?

I am going with a woman ( :) ) and she absolutely want this hotel.

Thanks for your help.

I think you need to be clear as to how Priceline works.

There is No Guarantee as to which hotel you'll get and even if you follow the advise and experience in bidding of the board members you still can't guarantee you'll even get a hotel as they all may be full or not have their priceline rate avaiable.

I would inform you lady friend of the above!

You CANNOT BE ASSURED you'll get this hotel if you use priceline, if you really want it then book conventionally :)

That said, it is never too late to bid on priceline, some places you can bid on the day up to 16:00.

This hotel usually has lower rates at the weekend which improves your chance of significantly winning a PL bid. The rate you posted is reasonably low so you may be lucky.

I will not give you a strategy as it's not my place but I will give the following advice:

1) Book a cancellable backup where you'll be happy to stay for your trip.

2) Decide WHERE you want to stay with PL

3) Decide yor MAXIMUM bid on PL (don't forget to factor in the taxes and fees)

4) If you ask for advice then follow it !

Read up on how to bid on priceline

FAQ's

especially understand about 'Free rebids' and the '72 hour lockout'

Are you aware that you can use Hotwire ?How Hotwire works

Browse this board for other FAQ's.

Good luck