Priceline Hotel: 4* NYC: 8/10-8/11 and 8/13 - bidding advice needed

Optique
By Optique,
in

Hi, I'd be grateful to receive bidding help. I'm new to Priceline but have read all the tips and info on this site.

I need a room for 1 person in the Midtown area -- either Midtown West or could accept adjacent areas. The dates are two nights Wed 10th and Thursday 11th August, plus Sat 13th August.

It does not need to be the same hotel all three nights -- but should be the same hotel Wed to Thursday.

Max budget including all taxes is USD175 per night. Any less would be great!

I'm in the UK -- should I use the UK site or are there better prices avaiilable by booking the US site?

Also, I may have friends staying the same nights. They will be booking separately -- but how likely are they to get the same hotel as me if they follow my bidding strategy straight after me for the same dates?

Thanks! :)

Welcome to BetterBidding!

Please post your maximum bid before taxes and fees.

We have seen simulatneous bids land different hotels while follwoing the same strategy... why don't you place all the rooms on the same bid and then just exchange the money between friends? (this will ensure that you're all at the same hotel)

Please use this HOTWIRE and these PRICELINE LINKS: HOTELS, CAR RENTALS, and AIRFARE to begin your travel purchases

Many thanks for the prompt reply. I guess the top bid before taxes should be $150, or $160 absolute tops.

Thanks for the tip about placing all the bids on one credit card. In fact there could be as many as six rooms needed, but it is by no means essential everyone is in the same hotel.

BTW, have users had any particular problems using Priceline for business travel in the past? I can't see any reason why there should be...

At the 4* level yo have two re-bid zones, if you're not familiar with re-bidding please read RE-BIDDING EXPLAINED and feel free to ask questions and/or confirm your re-bid zones with the board.