Priceline Hotel: Help with Resort on Kauai

jpl
By jpl,
in

Hello,

I'm fairly new to priceline (and this forum!), having used them for airfare a couple of times a few years back but never for a hotel.

My wife and I are taking a belated honeymoon and we really want to stay someplace special on Kauai. As you may know prices there are crazy (and this is supposed to be the off-season!)

So I've been trying to figure out how to get a top hotel like the Hyatt via Priceline. The lowest rate even on Hotwire appears to be $364.00 which is way out of our price range -

anyway - enough exposition!

I'm really not clear on what Priceline considers a "Resort" property and that is making me nervous about bidding. The only "Resort" property they list when I look at "shop and compare" is the Hyatt (also true of their packages page). BUT as I start to bid they say the median price for a resort hotel on Kauai for the dates listed (May 21 to May24) is $259 which means they must have other hotels they consider "Resorts", right?

Any light you can shed on this - or strategies you can give me for bidding this would be GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks,

jpl

Welcome to BetterBidding!

This post seems to be after your MAUI HOTWIRE post... so this in addition to your other stay?

Please add the dates of your stay to your other post and then we'll take a look at this Kauai stay.

Always ignore the 'suggested/median retail price' from priceline.

Please use this HOTWIRE and these PRICELINE LINKS: HOTELS, CAR RENTALS, and AIRFARE to begin your travel purchases

Thanks for the warm welcome!

Yes these dates are in addition to the Maui dates - we'll actually be on Kauai from 5/21 to 5/27, but are planning to stay somewhere cheaper (condo?) on the North Shore for the last three nights.

jpl

Unless they've "fibbing" (possible these days) the packages features shows there to be little promise in getting a Kauai resort for a good price for your days. Inventory can change, of course.