Hotwire Hotel: 4* Sea World-Mission Bay-Shelter Island

gupsmom
By gupsmom,
in

for $136

Aug 11-14

2 rooms

Beachfront, Restaurant(s), Pool(s), Fitness Center, Tennis Nearby, Business Center, Laundry Facilities (self-service)

I am totally new to hot wire and very nervous. This is also our first trip out West. We're looking for 3 nights in San Diego (Legoland, Sea World, Zoo, beach) before our already booked 6 days at Disneyland.

Also...how do I do this as a family of 5 (3 kids...ages 5, 6 and 8). Is there any way I can book just 1 room or do I have to go with 2?

Thanks so much...

Jess

"Hotwire's hotel partners allow a maximum of 4 occupants per room." This is the statement that comes up when you try to input 1 room, 2 adults, and 3 kids. When requesting 2 rooms for 5 for those dates, it shows a 4* with the same icons at $370/night (this must be what Jess meant by "lost that", thereuare)!

Priceline will be less expensive for two rooms, but summer weekends in San Diego are tough. Time is on your side tho' if you want to bid. Some deals are available in advance, but most winnings are closer to arrival date.

You might also want to look at booking directly at a suite-type hotel if you're too nervous to go HW or PL. Maybe you can use this as a back-up until you decide (it's always good to have one or two cancellable back-ups). Make sure you book your back-up soon, as prices will go up as inventory decreases- summer in San Diego is very popular.

Good luck.

If you don't mind the cramped quarters, I suggest you just enter 2 adults, 2 children in your search. Virtually all hotel chains now have a policy that kids stay free in their parents room, so worse case scenario, you pay an extra $10 at checkin for a crib. I have NEVER had a hotel make a fuss about 3 small children in my room (though I generally tried not to flaunt it and didn't take them all to the desk with me to check in.)

Good luck!