Priceline Hotel: 4* San Francisco (USE) Westin St Francis

BarSue4
By BarSue4,
in

I am new to BetterBidding but have found your forum extremely informative and would appreciate any assistance possible in securing 2 rooms - 9/7/10-9/8/10 (2 nts) - that would first of all be in a safe area, clean, close to transportation, and be under $100/rm/nt. I have been on Priceline's site previously, but will now use Priceline above. Is under $100 a night unrealistic during this time? Am I a little early in the bidding process? I noticed there are not many calendar wins during September.

Since a means of transportation would be important, would the preferable area be USE or USW? 4* or 3 1/2* is preferred in USE, FD, SOMA, FW in that order. I've read that USW hotels could be in an undesirable area. We want to spend no more than $100 (before taxes/fees). If we need to drop to 3*, we will of course; just not sure where.

We have a lot of users on the board who are local to or know this area very well and i'd wait for one of them to confirm, but i believe what you heard about the USW is that it contains the "tenderloin" although i don't think it is an issue for any of the known 4* which have been reported to the board (ie- the 4* hotels in the USW are all in an acceptable area, but again, hopefully somebody can confirm)

With the above noted i don't think you're budget is going to be an issue and you should be able to get something in the USE for ~$100 or less for the nite above.

Let us know if you want to start bidding in the USE zone with a $100 maximum bid OR if you prefer to wait for a reply regarding the USW zone and/or include other zone(s) in your bidding.

Also, what is more important... price or zone? In other words, did you want to bid up to your limit for your first zone choice (USE) and then if rejected lower to 3.5 or add other zones... OR is your goal the least expensive 4* or better in any of the zones you've indicated above?