Priceline Hotel: Looking for Santa Monica 4* - which I believe is Loews Santa Monica Be

pokepsw
By pokepsw,
in

Hi BB,

I'm looking for the 4* Santa Monica Hotel, which from reading other posts, is Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel. My budget is approx $180/nt before tax, 6 nights.

I tried 150, 170, and 180 tonight, after adding 2 rebidding zones. This is my first time using PRICELINE and I used the link from here.

If I can't get under this budget, I'd then look 3.5*, but I would really prefer to stay in Santa Monica and 1 of the 3.5* is in MDR. How can I avoid the MDR one of these 3:

3.5* Doubletree Guest Suites (previously 3*)

3.5* Marriott Marina Del Rey

3.5* Sheraton Delfina

Any advice?

Thanks!

I have the same problem - wishing to get Loews and trying to avoid 3,5 * MDR. I bid up to $ 160 few days back and wondering what to do next. My limit was 200 but I might have to settle with $180 if the Euro keeps dropping :) My dates are 6/25/10 - 6/30/10. I have also looked for an apartment in SM and Venice and they are available in $200 but the locations are bit hard to check. We will not rent a car so Hollywood is my second choice.

I would really prefer to stay in Santa Monica and 1 of the 3.5* is in MDR. How can I avoid the MDR

Check HOTWIRE, where the hotels can sometimes be identified in advance.

For your dates HOTWIRE has a 4* in Santa Monica-Venice-MDR:

Near Beach, Nonsmoke, Fitness, Pool, Restaurant, Highspeed

It looks like Sheraton Delfina in Santa Monica for $186. You've bid to $180 on PRICELINE. Does this interest you?

I've seen in posts on this board that the Sheraton is a 3.5* and can be had for around $120 or less, so I don't want to spend $180+ for a 3.5*, only a 4*.
You can probably win a PRICELINE 3.5* for less than HOTWIRE's $186 rate, but there's no guarantee the 3.5* hotel would be in Santa Monica (and not Marina Del Rey). The price premium you'd pay on HOTWIRE is for the certainty of getting a hotel in Santa Monica.