Something Odd - Priceline Jumped Me Down Stars

edli
By edli,
in

I know the board is not for complaints, and this isn't one -- I'm talking to Priceline separately, but I was just curious about whether this had happened to anyone else, and wanted to share my experience for whatever it may be worth (which may be nothing - lol).

I've been using Pricline for four years now, probably 20 nights per year, and this is a first. I know what I'm doing with it, so I don't usually mess up.

I did use the PRICELINE links here on the first res.

This is about two reservations made out of 13 over March and April, in which I got jumped down levels to levels for which I did not bid.

Anyway,

With the first reservation, March 28 and 29, I started with Tucson's Ventana Canyon for $40 at 4 stars and 3.5, just for kicks since I knew how unlikely it was, but was planning all along to settle for Tucson Central at 3. When I moved to 3 stars and Tucson Central, I got the Riverpark Inn at $40. I was surprised, since it didn't look like a 3, and when I got there, it was not, and not what I would assume, from experience, I would get for $40 at 3 stars in Tucson. So the next time I stayed in Tucson, two weeks later, I called Priceline first to verify what zone I had bid because I did not want the RIverpark Inn again, and was thinking I'd change zones. The phone guy told me I had bid 3, 2.5, and 2, and that the RIverpark was a 2. I said, I did?!?!? I knew I wouldn't have bid $40 for a 2 star in Tucson, but I let it go, thinking maybe I was temporarily nuts and really did go through bidding down to 2 stars while not changing the amount.