Priceline Hotel: Maui/Kauai

anjel
By anjel,
in

I have never used priceline before because I'm not too sure how it works. I want to get a hotel in Maui from 09/06-09/11 and one Kauai from 09/11-09/16. right now I have a price of 239.00 per night at the Sheraton Maui and 205.00 per night at the Sheraton Kauai with the 5th night free on both islands. Do you think I can get a better deal on Priceline and if so what category do I bid on to get hotels similar to this?

Welcome to BetterBidding!

I assume those rates are before the free nite is included (so multiply by .80 to get your actual nitely cost?)

I would think you'd be very safe (and happy) bidding for Resorts and 5 star properties (if available) and get equivalent properties, but i'll let one of our Hawaiin locals/experts to respond with more specifics since they have better first hand knowledge of the properties and what areas a honeymooner would want to target and/or avoid.

In the meantime you may want to give this thread a read which gives an overview as to how each service works: I've Never Used Priceline or Hotwire.

Please use this HOTWIRE and these PRICELINE LINKS: HOTELS, CAR RENTALS, and AIRFARE to begin your travel purchases

Congratulations, anjel. Yes, priceline can save you money on your honeymoon. Probably A LOT of money, if you're reasonably flexible, and can live with the priceline restrictions (most notably, you don't pick your individual hotel, and reservations are non-changable, non-refundable).

First, given "the stakes" involved here, make sure you become familiar with the bidding rules and simple bidding strategies. My guess is that, after reading the link thereuare has posted, you'll feel reasonably comfortable.

Now the nitty gritty. You've got tons of time, and September is a relatively slow time in Hawaii. That's good, because you're likely to get a good deal and, if you wish, you can wait several months before doing anything.