Priceline Hotel: NYC MTE/MTW March 3-8

Raymond
By Raymond,
in

First time in the forum, actually registered today. Never used Priceline nor Hotwire, as I travel extensively on business, and usually just extend my trip/stay at any given hotel I'm at. This time I'll be going to NYC with my wife usually we stay with friends, but thought that this time it would be fun to do something nicer. I'd like to stay in the MTE area but MTW is fine as well. Looking for a 4*+ hotel in that area for up to $130. I've looked at your list of 4* in those areas for PL and at this price don't think I could go wrong.

Any ideas on bidding strategies or alternatives. Remember I've never done this before so I'm not comfortable with it yet. Additionally, what type of bid do you think would give me a chance at a 5* in that area for the same days?? Who knows...as I've still got time to bid, why not give it a try and splurge a little.

Thanks...

Welcome to BetterBidding!

There is only one 5* hotel that is known in the area and it comes up very rarely, and when it does, it's usually only very close to check-in.

I don't think your $130 bid will be enough for a 4* hotel in the areas you are looking (and is there a reason why you aren't including UM/CPS?).

If you're not successful with Priceline, where and how much would you be paying? We can suggest a strategy going up to $130, but if that fails, would you sooner lower your star rating, raise you maximum bid, or make some other plans?

Please use this HOTWIRE and these PRICELINE LINKS: HOTELS, CAR RENTALS, and AIRFARE to begin your travel purchases

Thanks for the reply...

Actually I wouldn't be averse to staying in the UM/CPS area and could add to the bidding strategy if you believe that it would be possible to get a better deal.

If I couldn't get the 4*+ in these areas at $130 I would prefer considering raising my bid, and actually getting a really nice hotel in Midtown. An extra $20-30 a night won't kill me.