Hotwire Hotel: 4* Chicago (Mag Mile - Wacker Drive) Hyatt Regency

taminator
By taminator,
in

Amenities: Restaurant, fitness center, business center.

One room @ $59/nt for two nts = $118 plus $22.95 in taxes

Total cost: $140.95

I saw the exact same description for a hotel a few days earlier going for $75 per nt. Looks like there's a surplus of rooms this weekend and the price dropped. I'm glad I waited because it appears I saved myself some money.

I've stayed here before but this is my first try at using Hotwire. My travel agent advised me against using Hotwire, citing numerous horror stories from other customers, but I thought I'd give it a go.

The location is great -- it's right on the Chicago River, about two blocks east of Michigan Avenue and the start of the famous Magnificent Mile, and it's also within walking distance to Lake Shore Drive and the new Millennium Park. The last time I stayed there was in January 2004 and I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. One word of caution: This is a very big hotel and caters to a lot of conferences, so it does get busy at the front desk, the valet kiosk, and at the elevators during "rush hour." It's a trade-off for staying at a nice hotel in downtown Chicago.

I'm curious to find out how I'm treated being a Hotwire customer and also a Hyatt Gold member.

Welcome to BetterBidding!

Congratulations on your win... and for going against the advice of your travel agent. How much were they quoting you for a room for this nite?

While there are indeed a few 'horror stories' out there, they are more the exception than the rule, and there are also 'horror stories' from users that have chosen a hotel (and booked direct or thru a travel agent). If/when a negative hotel stay occurs, i find it easier to accept/tolerate when i'm paying $50/nite than $200+/nite.

Enjoy your stay and please share your experiences with us upon your return. We also have a HOTEL REVIEW section set-up for you to do so.