Priceline Hotel: HELP: NYC

jpoirier
By jpoirier,
in

Dates: 2/21 thru 2/25

Midtown central

4.5 star

Selected amenities include: Restaurant(s), Fitness Center, Spa Services, Business Center

Price: $176

Sounds like Westin Essex to me, but....I am a bit surprised to see the price I was quoted was $20 more than for a room in March. I am not in a rush to book this room, and am wondering if there is a chance the price will drop if I wait. Does anyone have thoughts or feedback? Thanks!

Hello all,

I made the mistake of not jumping on a Hotwire offer of $176 for the Westin Essex last night (wanted to sleep on it, as I have never used Hotwire or Priceline before), and the offer is now gone. I'm now considering bidding for the Waldorf Towers in MTE on Priceline (which appears to be the only 5* hotel on Priceline, yes?).

I'm interested in any advice or strategy for bidding on a 5* property in NYC. Since there are plenty of additional locations without 5* hotels, it should be easy to rebid. I'm primarily wondering what number I should start at and what incremements to go up. All thoughts are welcome! Thanks!

There is no way to know if prices will drop (or go up) between now and then. As well, with Hotwire prices can fluctuate up to $15 from search-to-search.

Keep in mind that hotel supply and demand aren't just reflected by seasonal factors... there are conventions, catered affairs (weddings), business meetings, etc. that can all effect pricing at an individual property.

Best bet is to just continue doing searches every few days and if/when you see a price you're comfortable with then take it. Please use THIS LINK for your searches.

Good luck and keep us updated or let us know if we can be of additional help.

Please use this HOTWIRE and these PRICELINE LINKS: HOTELS, CAR RENTALS, and AIRFARE to begin your travel purchases

I have merged your two posts... i'm assuming this is for the same stay?