Cheap flight to Cozumel (CZM)

migelito
By migelito,
in

I'm new to the priceline and hotwire arena, and I was wondering if you guys would recommend me using Priceline to attempt to book a flight from AUS (Austin) to CZM (Cozumel).

Searching for flight in Kayak.com (or other sites), I find out that the best flight in terms of trip duration and schedule is from Continental. However, there are a few Continental flights that depart one day and arrive a day later. From my understanding of PL terms, I would not get such a flight from them. This departing on Saturday Oct 17, 2009 and returning the following Saturday 24th.

My ideal flight is on Continental, that runs for $562 with taxes. Delta has a flight that takes longer for $436.

If I were to bid on the flight, do you have any idea on which flight would I get? If can get Delta's for $300 I'd be happy to take the savings and have a non-ideal flight, but would like to know what's the worst case scenario I would face.

Also, after a search on this site I didn't find much information about success from people bidding on airfares, neither what airlines priceline works with.

Any advice is very welcome. Thanks in advance.

I just re-read the priceline rules and it seems that a valid options for them is to send me in the following flights that have layovers of over 10 hours. Do you agree given their "Your trip may start anytime from 5am on your travel dates to as late as 2am the next day, and may arrive anytime on the day after departure." note?

Depart

Welcome to BetterBidding!

...there are a few Continental flights that depart one day and arrive a day later. From my understanding of PL terms, I would not get such a flight from them. This departing on Saturday Oct 17, 2009 and returning the following Saturday 24th.

Is the layover shorter/longer than 5 hours? How do the fares breakdown between fase fare and fees/taxes? (how much are the fees/taxes portion?)