the risk of bidding

thais fernandes
By thais fernandes,
in

:)

I got a 4* hotel in Paris with Priceline somedays ago. That was the first time I used and I must say that I'm not I did the right thing. Maybe it's me, because I new in this business and I'm not a good player, maybe the system doesn't work well for Paris.

The price I got (US$ 145) seems to be OK (the hotel was a Sofitel, now it is Pullman Paris Rive Gauche), as long as Paris is a pretty expensive town. However, the city zones are so large that you can not be sure of where exactly you are going to stay.

My hotel is veery far (almost in Peripherique). Thanks God at least I will be able to take the metro. but I guess I would better stay the middle of the town.

Is there any way I can narrow the area? I don't think so.

Is there any way to know the hotels I'm bidding with? Are they the same hotel Priceline shows (with the high daily rates)?

As I said, I'm a beginner.

Thanks for any advice.

Was this for your Paris Hotel stay? Please follow-up your post on the board with your results.

What did you end up doing for your Hotwire New York stay? Please follow-up that thread as well.

Add a reply to this thread once you have followed-up your threads above and we'll comment accordingly.

Please use these PRICELINE and HOTWIRE links to begin your travel purchases.

Please use this HOTWIRE and these PRICELINE LINKS: HOTELS, CAR RENTALS, and AIRFARE to begin your travel purchases

• 2 weeks later...

I like to make a suggestion to our administrator, theruare.

In the hotel list, I like to suggest identifying remarks on hotels, so that we can tell:

1. there is a dog with over-rated star rating or one particular hotel way-out distance in the normal zone area with rest of hotel, but same star rating.

For example, Hotwire Hartford Windsor Airport in Connecticut, the 3* rated hotels has a dog - Holiday Inn Express East Windsor. The Tripadvisor has numerous reports indicating this franchise is a dog.