Priceline Hotel: Downtown Vegas 1/7-1/11

CrankiestOne
By CrankiestOne,
in

I'm new to your site and I absolutely love it. This is my first attempt at Priceline, and I am looking for suggestions.

Three fabulous women are planning a trip to Vegas 1/7-1/11 to celebrate one fabulous 40th birthday. We have a "backup reservation" at Excalibur, booked through the CES convention that's scheduled that weekend. (We aren't convention attendees, but the convention website has links to hotels with the convention rates.) Unfortunately, this convention is expecting 115,000 attendees, and it looks like hotel rates are soaring accordingly.

We would prefer a good rate at Golden Nugget (or a nicer hotel on the strip). Best online price I found for GN is $113/night. Rates are about $160/night for Fri/Sat, and $80/night for Sun/Mon. I'd appreciate any bidding advice you can provide. Given the price difference, should I split my bid? Many, many thanks!

Welcome to BetterBidding!

I looked at the rates of the Exacalibur <ouch!>, just so i can get a feel for where you're at and what's important to you... would you sooner take the Excalibur (on strip, higher price, not as nice as GN) or the Golden Nugget (less expensive, nicer than Exacalibur, well off-strip)?

Also, in order to compare apples-to-apples... for the above rates are you searching for double or triple occupancy? Most Las Vegas hotels are now charging extra for more than double occupancy... upwards of $30/pp extra (so for quad occupancy users need to add $60!! to their room rate :) ).

For instance i found either NYNY or Treasure Island for the last 2 nites of your stay... but that was for double occupancy. Change that to 3 people in the room and the price jumps to $140. Many would just book double occupancy, get two beds in the room, and have all 3 stay... others don't feel comfortable doing this and would be nervous about not getting the two beds they requested. Not sure of your position.