Hotwire Hotel: 2.5* Austin (Arboretum-Mopac) Extended Stay Deluxe Arboretum North

lynchmob98
By lynchmob98,
in

I'm new to betterbidding and the world of Priceline and Hotwire ... refered by a friend who has had good experiences ...

Here's the process I went thru ...

1. Read as much as I could on betterbidding.com ...

2. Decided that 2.5* was good enough for us (me & my wife) for first 2 nights of a 6-night trip ...

3. Went to HOTWIRE (via betterbidding link) and saw they were offering rooms at $39 / night in the area I wanted (Arboretum) ...

4. Went to PRICELINE (via betterbidding link) and bid $35 on 2.5* in its "Austin Northwest - Arboretum" area and got REJECTed ...

5. Went back to Hotwire (via betterbidding link) and took their offer of $39 / night ... and got Extended Stay American Austin - Arboretum - North ... so $39 / night for 2 nights + taxes/fees = 16.89 ... so $94.89 total for 2 nights ...

We don't plan to spend much time in the hotel so we figure we don't need/want any "extras" ... so just hoping it's clean and quiet ... I'll let y'all know ...

After I did my bidding at PRICELINE, I realized a better strategy would have been to have started with a bid on 3* in the area I wanted at $39 ... and then if rejected, try again by adding 2.5* and lowing the bid to $35 ... because I would have been happy to have a $39 3* hotel from PRICELINE, but I did not give myself an opportunity to make that bid ... I guess I could have Austin - North in order to have been able to make another bid ...

I've got more bidding to do for this trip ...

Question: should I post the PRICELINE rejection over on the Priceline forum?

Welcome to BetterBidding! (and thanks to your friend for helping to spread the word as to what we're doing in our little corner if the internet :) )

Congratulations on your success... glad to hear your first PRICELINE / HOTWIRE experience went fairly well and you're happy with the results.