Train from New York to Toronto

CheshireCat
By CheshireCat,
in

Yes I know flying is much quicker and probably cheaper, but I am thinking of making this trip by train in October. I've never been to the area before and I hope to be able to see more of the Fall colour in upper NY State this way than if I fly.

But I have no experience of US rail travel so can anyone comment:

- Is it worth paying for the business class seat (it's a 12 hour journey)?

- Any views on the availability and quality of food on the train or should I bring a picnic?

- Any other helpful advice?

I have found a way of saving 20% off the train fare (using the code V148 that I got from my "Trip Rewards" hotel card is good for this trip but the code V822 that I found on a couple of websites isn't). Are there any better savings to be made?

Thanks everyone.

I've taken the same train from Niagara Falls to Toronto. The coach cars are old and beaten up. I didn't see the business class ones, but I would assume they would be better. If the extra price of business class is not a lot to you, it might very well be worth it. The food in the Cafe Car is marginal, so I would by all means bring a picnic.

If you'd like to view the Falls, I would check with Amtrak to see if there are any good fares with stopovers available. If you've never been to Buffalo, I think that's a surprisingly underrated city that would be well worth a stopover as well. (If Amtrak doesn't allow stopovers, you could get a r/t on Greyhound from Buffalo for about only $30, with a free stopover at the Falls.)

The fall color in upstate NY should be quite nice; however the scenery from Niagara Falls to Toronto is uninspiring.

The train is operated by Amtrak up to the border, where ViaRail takes over, although there is no change of equipment. The ViaRail conductor I had was a vibrant 20-something Quebecois man, overflowing with life and personality, who made the trip memorable despite the ugly equipment and scenery.