Hotwire Hotel: 3* Chicago (Loop) La Quinta Inn

jjeff
By jjeff,
in

Hi! Newbie here. I found this forum after mysteriously being banned from TOBB (don't really know why... I did not do anything bad, as far as I know). I will henceforth always bid via BB.

Anyway, here's my question: I am purchasing a room for 4 (3 adults, one child) for Chicago from 5/15-17. Got nowhere on Priceline, but I hear that there is a large convention going on in town. This room is for my wife, her mother, and my two daughters (girls weekend out), and they actually want just one room for all, hence my move to Hotwire. They also want to be near downtown, within walking distance of the Art Institute.

Hotwire gives me 3 possibilities:

3.5* at $236 and 4.5* at $262 in Magnificent Mile - Streeterville.

3* in Loop.

I am guessing the 4.5* is the Intercontinental (and probably worth the extra $ over the 3.5* choice). What I am really curious about is the 3* in the Loop. There does not seem to be a listing for any 3* hotels in the Loop.

Advice? Thanks in advance!

Welcome to the site. :)

The issue with bidding on PRICELINE is that you would not be guaranteed 2 beds, which may be problematic with 4 people.

Not sure if the group is driving or not, but I'll toss out this suggestion: if you are driving, there are some very nice suburban hotels in great areas that can be had on these dates for far less. The group would have to take the Metra Train (metrarail.com) into downtown, but the savings might be worth it.