Priceline Hotel: Advice for bidding during convention time

heinous
By heinous,
in

Hi! I'm a Priceline newbie - only used it once before. I'm looking for a room in Chicago during a convention - 10/8-10/12. First of all, is it too early to bid now? When should I start? Does anyone know how much I might expect to pay?

I appreciate any help! Thanks so much! :)

Christine

Welcome to BetterBidding!

Convention Bidding: Bid early, bid often, monitor conventional rates, be open to multiple zones, be willing to SPLIT YOUR BID, are all things that can increase your chances.

What zones, star rating, and maximm bid do you have in mind? Is splitting the bid an option?

Thanks.

Please use this HOTWIRE and these PRICELINE LINKS: HOTELS, CAR RENTALS, and AIRFARE to begin your travel purchases

Hi! Thanks for your help!

I'd be open to splitting my bid if it's going to save me over $30/night. Otherwise, it won't be worth it because I'll be really busy at that time.

I'm looking for either a 3* or 4* for $70-$80. Looking at the other posts for Chicago, that seems doable. I don't know how much conventions change things. The convention will host around 40,000 people, but I'm sure there are more than enough hotel rooms in Chicago for all of those people.

I'd like to stay in either greater Chicago (since this includes the McCormick Place Hyatt), Loop, or North Michigan area.

Thanks again for your advice!

Christine

Prices for those other dates aren't likely to be relevant for your dates... 40,000 extra people in town will likely fill a LOT of otherwise vacant rooms. Sure the city can handle that many.... but it certainly disrupts the supply vs. demand relationship. From the hotel's point of view, why should they offer rooms to Priceline/Hotwire at deeply discounted rates when they have a good chance of selling out their property those nites and gettng near-rack rates?