Priceline Hotel: 3* Boston (Cambridge) Hyatt Regency Cambridge

jbk92116
By jbk92116,
in

This is my first time bidding -- can you help me come up with a bidding strategy?

I need to get a room for 1 night on 9/15 in Boston. I don't care about stars. I would like a hotel in the following zones:

Back Bay-Copley

Cambridge

Downtown Boston-Charlestown

World Trade Center

I may be able to tolerate a hotel in these zones:

Medford-Sommerville

South Boston

Revere-Logan Airport

Thanks,

-jbk92116

I don't think you'll be successful in your top prefered zones, but you have a chance in the Airport zone and perhaps some of the alternate areas.

Would you rather go for the airport at $75 or less or would you rather raise your minimum bid for your prefered zones?

Of course you could always try the ideal areas up to $75 before reverting to 'settling' for the airport area.

Let us know how you'd like to proceed and we'll suggest a stategy accordingly.

PS- as rates are high in the 'city', is there a special event going on for this date?

Please use this HOTWIRE and these PRICELINE LINKS: HOTELS, CAR RENTALS, and AIRFARE to begin your travel purchases

I don't think you'll be successful in your top prefered zones, but you have a chance in the Airport zone and perhaps some of the alternate areas....

PS- as rates are high in the 'city', is there a special event going on for this date?

Well you were right! I tried and got nothing for $75 in any zone in Boston. Oh well. I need to decide whether I want to shell out more money (or stay with a cousin, which I didn't want to do).

I don't know if there is anything special going on that day....

Thanks for your help!

Got it!

I bid $85 for 3* hotels in Downtown, Cambridge, Back Bay and World Trade Center, and was counter offered at $107. I skipped the counter offer and rebid $92 by adding South Boston it got accepted. The hotel is Hyatt Regency Cambridge. Good enough! Thanks everyone for your input.