Hotwire and child under 2

drodog
By drodog,
in

I'm a newbie with Hotwire and am looking for some guidance. I've noticed that Hotwire only asks for the number of children over 2 years of age. This implies that if you are traveling with children under 2, the hotel should be able to accomodate them in the room you purchase. Is this correct? I am looking for a hotel in Rome, and I know that some European hotels have restrictions that only "deluxe" or better rooms can be booked for people traveling with children who will be staying with them in the same room. Does anyone have some insight they can share with me to help me make a more informed decision?

I think you're "safe" not including the child in your search, but would also use caution if the total occupancy was going to be more than triple (ie- if you have two or more children under age two, i wouldn't necessary assume that all will be fine and show up at the hotel when i've only booked for double occupancy... you'd need to be a little proactive and confirm with the hotel after your purchase)... definately more cautious if occupancy was actually going to be over four people in the room.

So assuming you're two adults and one child under 2 years old, when i say "safe", i mean that if you made a purchase and then contacted the hotel and the hotel wasn't going to be able to accomodate the three of you, that you would be able to contact HOTWIRE and either have them arrange for a room which would accomoate you OR cancel the reservation (at their choice)... you would have a good leg to stand on since you did enter the parameters as per their definition.