Priceline Hotel: 3* Portland (Vancouver, WA) Hilton

tilepusher
By tilepusher,
in

This was easily the most stressful bidding process I've ever been through on Priceline.

I had $10 bonus cash to work with, but until a few days ago, I wasn't sure how many rooms I'd need or how I'd get down to Portland. I had been lowballing for almost two months in case any great deals turned up, but by the time I was ready to get more aggressive, Priceline rates in Downtown Portland had spiraled upwards, and there didn't appear to much in the Convention Center zone either. I bid up to $75 ($65+10) in Downtown Portand and $57 in the Convention Center area with no results. When I saw that givingtree had to go up to $90, I started to panic and did the unthinkable -- I actually booked a backup at the Crowne Plaza Convention Center ($106 for an executive two queen room with my Entertainment Card). I knew that I had blown it, and wasted my bonus cash in the process.

Then fate intervened. A couple of friends decided to come down to Portland as well and needed a room for Saturday and Sunday nights -- and there was enough room in their car for me and my roommate. So with new life, I tried 2.5* Convention Center, 2.5* Jantzen Beach/North Harbor and 3* Vancouver, in that order, up to $45. I then tried 2.5* Jantzen Beach up to $53. Finally, I bid $46 and $47 ($37+10) for 3* Vancouver and got the Hilton. I used Downtown and South Waterfront District as extra rebid zones (as well as zones for which I had previously been rejected; for example, I used Jantzen Beach to get extra bids for Vancouver), which allowed me to go up in $1-$2 increments. For Friday night, I'll be staying at the Crowne Plaza for $92 (standard two queen room).

The final numbers for this bid were:

Your Offer Price: $37.00 (+$10 bonus)

Number of Rooms: 2

Number of Nights: 2

Subtotal: $148.00

Taxes and Service Fees: $33.74

Total Charges: $181.74