Priceline Hotel: 3* Orange County (Disneyland) Crowne Plaza

wishing2008
By wishing2008,
in

Hi, I'm new to Better Bidding. It's a great resource to get info/advice from people!

I'm planning a vacation to Disneyland, either 8/18-8/24 or in September for 2 adults & 1 toddler and would like to stay at a higher end 3.5 star hotel like the Hyatt Orange County.

1. Is HOTWIRE or PL better for a 6 day trip? PL just list all their hotels as 3 star and I don't want to get stuck with a lower 3 star hotel like the Holiday Inn Ann. Res.

-I've noticed that people have been winning short stays (nothing more than 3 days) at PL for around $50 during August, but at the Hol. Inn & Res. I understand that with PRICELINE, you're just bidding for the zone, not the hotel.

- At HOTWIRE, I've figured out, based on the amenities that the HOC is going for $89/nt. (My sister got $65 for HOC from PL last summer.)

2. Does PL pick the same hotel over and over for certain period and then switch?

3. How much should I start the bidding for the 3 star if I go the PL route? My limit is $69, hopefully the hotel doesn't have resort fees.

- I've checked the rates for some of the lower 3 stars hotels directly from their websites (Hol. Inn Ann. Res. $89, Anabella $104) and the higher 3 stars (HOC $134, Sheraton Park $149, Anaheim Marriott $259)

4. How many days prior to my vacation should I bid on PL? How long should I wait if I use HW?

5. Lastly, will September be a lot cheaper for these sites? Or are the rates fairly stable?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Welcome to BetterBidding!

Since there are hotel(s) in the zone at the 3* level that you wouldn't want to stay at then i don't think PRICELINE is a good option for this stay... better to use HOTWIRE where you have a chance at avoiding any properties that you are trying to avoid. This may cost a little more than PRICELINE but you have a much better chance at getting what you want (or not getting what you don't want, as the case may be)