Priceline Hotel: 5* Las Vegas (North Strip)

DavidAUM
By DavidAUM,
in

Hello,

This is my first time posting and my first attempt at using Priceline. I have tried to review everything I could find on this site that would aid in this, so your patience in anything I may have missed is apprecaited. I hope I didn't miss something.

I am trying to book a 5* room on the Las Vegas Stip checking in on 4/18/08 (Friday) and checking out on 4/20/08 (Sunday). All reports tend to lean toward the North Strip (Venetian / Palazzo) as the best bets.

The property reservation sites with no discounts showed the rooms for $259/night.

I took a whack at it and it went like this:

I set off using the BetterBidding.com PRICELINE link.

I started my initial bid at $165/night (Too high of a start? Namby-pamby bid?) for a 5* Las Vegas (North Strip). I received a counter-offered at $226.

Added a re-bid zone (Convention Center). Re-bid at $171. I received a counter-offered at $226.

Added a re-bid zone (Airport LAS). Re-bid at $175. I received a counter-offered at $226.

Added a re-bid zone (Nelis). Re-bid at $175. I received a counter-offered at $226.

Added a re-bid zone (Fremont) Re-bid at $178. I received a counter-offered at $226.

Added a re-bid zone (West of Strip). Re-bid at $182. I received a counter-offered at $226.

I began to think I was doing something wrong. Either that or $226 was what I should expect.

So - I stopped. And now I seek the advice of those with greater experience.

Am I doomed to $226/night?

Please set me on a course with a strong plan of action.

I thank you in advance.

-David

Must be a busy weekend. you can probably get it around 212 to 214 if offer is 226. However, that seems really high, but it might be peak season now. Make reservation at 259, is that with all the promotions, if not google and look for promotions, make your reservation and you can bid once a day till then...well, until the last day to cancel...