Hotwire Hotel: QUESTION FROM FIRST-TIME USER

mom on the shore
By mom on the shore,
in

I am trying to book a hotel in downtown Montreal for the dates 2/17 to 2/29. As I have never used Hotwire or Priceline before, I am a little nervous about getting burned. Is one better than the other? Hotwire lists a hotel for $89 with a fitness center, restaurant, business center, and high speed internet. Any idea of what hotel that would be? I am concerned about extra costs, inflated ratings, etc. If I can get a better price on Priceline, that would be great, as long as the hotel lives up to its rating and is in a convenient location.

Welcome to BetterBidding!

Start with this thread which explains the similarities and differences between Priceline and Hotwire: I've Never Used Priceline or Hotwire

Then ask any additional questions you have and/or let us know which direction you think you would like proceed. If HOTWIRE, please let us know the star rating of the hotel above.

Please use this HOTWIRE and these PRICELINE LINKS: HOTELS, CAR RENTALS, and AIRFARE to begin your travel purchases

The amenities above are common for a 'city' hotel, but the Delta Center-ville, Hilton Bonaventure, and Hyatt Regency have all been reported with the 4 amenities above. While i would call receiving one of these properties as 'likely', there are no guarantees, and you could receive a new hotel not yet reported or a hotel already reported but at a different star level or with a new amenitiy combination.

Essentially you have to weigh the savings relative to what you may otherwise spend on a hotel room. If the hotel received turns out to be what you perceive to be a 3* property, for $89/nite would you still be satisfied? (as i suspect booking a 3* hotel for these dates thru conventional methods would still cost more than that) Not knowing the precise hotel is what you give up in exchange for the <usually> deep discounts you see on the board.