Priceline Hotel: 4* Chicago (NMA) Swissotel

Rubiman
By Rubiman,
in

I'm planning to fly my wife into Chicago for our anniversay the weekend before Thanksgiving (specifically, the 19th - 21st). I've never used PriceLine before, but have had it recommended to me to save some major dough. Common sense would tell me that I'm not going to get a terribly low bid accepted this early, but am I wrong? I want to book a 4* hotel in the NMA area, but it looks like about 2 out of 3 bidders wind up at the Hyatt. Not a bad hotel by any means, but it's on the southern fringe and I'd hoped to be able to avoid taxi fare to northern Michigan Avenue (I know first hand it's a chilly walk up there in late November).

Does anyone have any suggestions that *might* get me up a little further north in this area? Also, am I better off waiting until closer to that weekend? I don't know whether the weekend before Thanksgiving is actually a busy time at hotels or not. I'm not entirely comfortable with waiting until the last minute and then running the risk of not having anything decent available.

Thanks for any help I can get!

Welcome to BetterBidding!

I think you're fine to bid this now (assuming your plans are firm) and won't necessarily get a better deal by waiting. I don't think that the weekend before Thanksgiving is unusually busy for any particular reason (assuming no conferences in town or the like).