Priceline Hotel: 4* NYC (Times Square-Theater District) Millenium Braodway

Erica106
By Erica106,
in

Hi. I'm new to priceline, and have done a lot of research on it, but am still confused and am hoping I can get some specific suggestions.

My husband and I are looking to visit NYC 4/21/08-4/25/08 (check in on a monday, check out friday). Is it too early to bid? We are planners and want to have things settled in the next couple weeks, but will that hurt our chances of getting a deal?

We are going for vacation and plan on doing typical tourist stuff, but would like a nice hotel (probably 4 stars, or maybe 3.5 (grand hyatt or westin or hilton as an example)). Questions:

What areas are generally recommended for what we are going for? I was thinking MTE, MTW, UM-CPS, MTS or times square. Times square might be too noisy though.

We are hoping not to spend more than $250 per night including taxes (how much are taxes/fees?), so what would my max bid be if i am not wanting more than 250/night total?

Is this too early to book?

Do you think this is achievable?

I suppose i need help with a bidding "plan". I dont' really understand the re-bid thing even thoguh i've read the post A LOT of times lol. How soon after you bid does pricelien tell you if it is accepted?

Any help is GREATLY appreciated!!

p.s. I looked at Expedia for those dates to get a general sense, and the hotels i thoguht were 4 star ar elisted as 3 or 3.5 star, adn are between 350-500 per night. Also, my sister works at a hyatt and gets a family discount, so she found that for my dates she could get me a rate of $287 per night for weeknights, $237 for weekends, but i thought maybe i could do better on price, but that gave me a general sense as well as what we could bid...