Wash DC (WAS) to Trieste, Italy (TRS)

Slam tilt
By Slam tilt,
in

Hi!

Newbie here, I've never used HW or PL but am considering doing so due to the high airfares I've been finding. :)

Right now, the best available is;

$1359 which breaks down to $985 fare and $374 fees/taxes. I'm looking to leave around 6/18 and I'd like to be back by 7/4, but I'm really completely flexible with dates/times etc say within about 7 days +/-.

I can leave out of Dulles or BWI, (the WAS designation is supposed to cover everything in the Wash DC area in searches) and don't care where I connect through, probably will end up with 2 connections as TRS is a smaller regional airport. In the past, I've usually been able to get substantial discounts by flying into the nearest major airport, Venice, (VCE) which is about a 3 hour train ride from Trieste, but oddly this time the price is actually higher at $1363. ($1019 base fare). I've been tracking the prices for a couple of months and other than about a week where there was a sale fare of $770 plus $380 in fees/taxes, the prices have not budged.

So, any suggestions/hints/trips/tricks? :) Ideally, if I could get a ticket for less than $1000, (including everything), I'd probably do it. Otherwise I may wait til the fall when things should be cheaper.

Thanks!

Serg

You're probably already aware of this strategy, but in case you are not...