Priceline Hotel: Please advise on finding a hotel with pool

kriseMN
By kriseMN,
in

I have never used Priceline to bid before, but hotel prices in Washington DC have me looking for options. How can I know that my family will have a hotel with a pool if I bid on Priceline? We are planning to travel 6/9 to 6/16, but our dates can flex a bit more toward summer if necessary. We have 2 adults and 2 kids (5 & 8) ready to see the monuments, Smithsonian, zoo.... so I am leaning toward the Dupont area. Prices seem to be up in the $200 or so range on a quick search at Hotwire.

Is there anything else you need to know? I am so confused by this process, but I am determined to pay a reasonable rate. Hoping for $150 or less. I'm willing to be more realistic if I have to be.

Thanks for your help.

Kris

Welcome to BetterBidding!

How can I know that my family will have a hotel with a pool
With Priceline you can't. If a pool is important to you then you may be better off with HOTWIRE which will show you the amenities available (one of which is a Pool icon) before your purchase... however, this can also be an outdoor pool, which may or may not be suitable at the beginning of June.
We have 2 adults and 2 kids
Are you intending on getting one room for all four of you? If so, Priceline only guarantees double occupancy... after that it's at the discretion of the hotel. HOTWIRE will allow you to search for up to quad occupancy. Some use priceline for more than double occupancy and accept the risk... but it is a risk you and your family will need to decide if it's worth taking. For a further discussion, see the related link in our PRICELINE FAQ.

After reading the above let us know if you still want to try Priceline (for one room) and/or if anything within your priceline appears on HOTWIRE. If moving forward with priceline, is the Dupont Circle zone the only area that is acceptable to you?

Let us know the above and we'll advise accordingly.