Priceline Hotel: 4* San Diego (Downtown-Harbor Island) Manchester Grand Hyatt

otottmom
By otottmom,
in

This is my first time using Priceline to name my own price. Yesterday, I bid:

$80.00 for a 4 star in San Diego Downtown area for April 20th (1 night only) - Rejected

I re-bid and added Coronado area and increased my bid to $82.00 - Rejected

I re-bid and added Mission Valley and increased my bid to $85.00 - Rejected

I re-bid and added No. County Coastal and increased my bid to $89.00 - Rejected

I re-bid and added Pt. Loma/Old Town and increased my bid to $95.00 - Rejected.

Now what? I need help with a strategy from here. Maybe I've been going about it all wrong??? Do I just keep adding areas (hopefully ones w/o 4 stars) until it gets accepted? Should I increase my price a lot more? I don't want to pay more than $125.00 for a Downtown hotel. It doesn't HAVE to be 4 star, but it must be close to the Downtown area. I certainly can't end up in Escondido!

One more thing: Does anyone know what other San Diego areas definitely don't have 4 star hotels?

BTW, I did access Priceline for this bid through the savingsbarn link.

Thanks in advance for any and all advice here. :)

Does anyone know what other San Diego areas definitely don't have 4 star hotels?

First thing you need to do is read and understand re-bidding, which is explained here: Priceline Re-Bidding Explained

You actually have 11 re-bid zones avaiable when bidding 4* in the San Diego region. Please read the previous link and let us know if you can figure out which 11 qualify as re-bid zones (feel free to confirm them with the board) or if you don't understand something then ask questions.

Once you understand how to figure our your re-bid zones then we'll be able to suggest a strategy for you to follow.

Please use this HOTWIRE and these PRICELINE LINKS: HOTELS, CAR RENTALS, and AIRFARE to begin your travel purchases