Hotwire Hotel: 4.5* North Scottsdale Hotel Question

Cleo
By Cleo,
in

I've been consistently checking Hotwire (for about 2 weeks) for Phoenix area hotels for March 18-22. Based on the information that I've seen on this board and elsewhere, I'm pretty certain that the Westin Kierland was offered anywhere from $79-$85. Amenities were: Resort, Restaurant, Pool, Fitness, Business, Golf, Tennis, Spa, Children's Activities, Laundry.

I wasn't sure if my plans to visit Phoenix were firm, so I couldn't commit to this until earlier this week. However, when I went back to Hotwire earlier this week, it was listed at around $175, and then a day or so later, it was completely gone. Today, I checked in the morning, and I believe it was back for $110, and this evening it was not listed again.

I've never used Hotwire before, so I don't know if this is normal. Certainly if it comes back up for $110, I would grab it (it's still better than the $450 on Westin's website!).

Any thoughts on whether or not it will show up again? Thanks!

I meant are you not seeing any 4.5* properties in the North Scottsdale zone (where the Westin is located) since Hotwire will only show you one property at each star rating per zone. I did a search for your dates and see that no 4.5* properties are shown in this zone for your dates.

There is no telling for certain if you will see this property again, but i would think there is a good chance. Hotels generally give Hotwire access to discounted inventory when they project that bookings are tracking below full-occupancy. While you were wating for your plans to finalize, the hotel may have had an increase in bookings and therefore pulled the discounted rate (which is likely what happened when you saw the rate jump to $175).